Sri Lanka first Test match win

Sri Lanka first Test match win

Sri Lanka first Test match win

On this day during on September 11, 1985, Sri Lanka recorded their first ever Test match win in their cricketing history, doing so in their 14th attempt. Sri Lanka convincingly won by 149 runs against India at Colombo’s P Sara Stadium.

Sri Lankan captain Duleep Mendis won the toss and chose to bat first and made 385 runs in the first innings. Wicket-keeper Amal Silva made century by scored 111 runs and made 4 dismissals in 1st innings also 5 dismissals in 2nd innings. Roy Dias scored 95 runs and Ranjan Madugalle made 54 runs.

In reply, India were dismissed for 244 runs. Krishnamachari Srikkanth scored 64 and Sunil Gavaskar scored 52 runs. Rumesh Ratnayake took 4 for 76.

With the lead of 141 in the first innings, Sri Lanka added another 206 runs, Aravinda de Silva hit 75 and Dias made 60 not out. The innings set India a target of 355 but they only managed to put together 198.

Indian captian Kapil Dev made fighting 78 runs but it could not help for India. Rumesh Ratnayake strike back again and took 5 wickets for 49 runs in 2nd innings. This was his 2nd five wickets hauls and 2nd againt India. It helps for Sri Lanka Victory.

On this test match, Sanjeewa Weerasinghe made his Test debut. After the victory in Colombo, Sri Lanka managed to draw the next game at Kandy, which ensured the home side sealed their first-ever Test series victory over a Test-playing nation.

Winning Moment

~ Scorecard : Sri Lanka won by 149 runs ~

1st Innings

Sri Lanka 385 (156.3 Ov)
Amal Silva 111
Roy Dias 95

Chetan Sharma 118/5

India 244 (95.1 Ov)
Kris Srikkanth 64
Mohinder Amarnath 60

Rumesh Ratnayake 76/4

2nd Innings
Sri Lanka 206/3d (53 Ov)
Aravinda de Silva 75
Roy Dias 60*

Ravi Shastri 41/1

India 198 (66.2 Ov)
Kapil Dev 78

Rumesh Ratnayake 49/5