Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher win again

Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher win again

1987, Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher to Win a Third Consecutive Term

On this day on June 11, 1987, Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher, became the very first British Prime Minister in 160 years to win a third consecutive term.

Thatcher, subsequent support for the Community Charge (“poll tax”) was widely unpopular, and her increasingly Eurosceptic views on the European Community were not shared by others in her Cabinet.

The Iron Lady

During on May 4, 1979, Thatcher became the first female Prime Minister in British. Meanwhile, she serve as prime minister of the United Kingdom from 1979 to 1990. Meanwhile, serve as a leader of the Conservative Party from 1975 to 1990. She was the longest-serving British prime minister of the 20th century.

Margaret commonly known as ‘The Iron Lady’, a nickname that became associated with her uncompromising politics and leadership style. The Iron Lady introduced a series of economic policies intended to reverse high unemployment. Also Britain’s struggles in the wake of the Winter of Discontent and an ongoing recession.

However, her resigned as prime minister and party leader in 28 November 1990, after Michael Heseltine launched a challenge to her leadership.



One thought on “Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher win again

  1. June 11 - On This Day In World
    June 11, 2020 at 5:06 AM

    […] 1987 – The First British Prime Minister to Win a Third Consecutive Term. […]

Comments are closed.