2009, Pakistan won ICC World Twenty20

2009, Pakistan won ICC World Twenty20

2009, Pakistan won ICC World Twenty20

On this day June 21, 2009, Pakistan became the champions in the second ICC World Twenty20. The T20 final held between Sri Lanka and Pakistan at the Lord’s in London.

Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and chose to bat first. Sri Lanka scored 138 for 6 and Kumar Sangakkara scored 64 runs. Pakistan won by 8 wickets with 8 balls remaining. Player of The Match Shahid Afridi led the 139-run chase with an unbeaten 54 runs. Sri Lankan opening batsmen, Tillakaratne Dilshan was declared as Man of the Series for his 317 runs at an average of 63.40.

Pakistan Victory

This was Pakistan, first World Twenty20 victory, after being the runners-up at the very previous tournament at 2007. This was the second consecutive time where both the finalists were Asian teams.

Embed from Getty Images



One thought on “2009, Pakistan won ICC World Twenty20

  1. June 21 - On This Day In World - History today
    June 21, 2020 at 6:59 AM

    […] 2009 – Pakistan won ICC World Twenty20 […]

Comments are closed.