England won their first ICC World Cup in 2019

England won their first ICC World Cup in 2019

2019, England won their first ICC World Cup

On this day during on July 14, 2019, Host nation, England won their very first ICC World Cup by beating New Zealand at Lord’s. Meanwhile, England became the third team to win the World Cup at home.

Second Consecutive Finals

It was New Zealand second consecutive finals appearances and runners-up (2015 and 2019).

Match Tied

New Zealand and England same score 241 runs and match was tied at the end of the 50th over.

Boundary Count Win

Then match went to a Super Over and both teams again scored same score 15 runs. However, England finally won the ICC world cup final match on the Boundary count back rule (26–17).


This was the first time that Super Over used in ODI history and ICC world cup finals. Also this was the first time that Super Over also finish in a tie. Finally Boundary Count rule used for the first time in world cup final.

Best Players

Ben Stokes (Eng) became the Player of The Match and Kane Williamson (NZ) became the Player of The Series by scored 578 run. It was the highest number of runs as a captain in a single World Cup series. Joe Root (Eng) took 13th catch of the tournament and it was the most in a single Cricket World Cup.

Greatest Match

This final was one of the greatest match in the ODI cricket history.

Lord’s Ground

Lord’s is the ground that host most number of final in ICC world cups. It was the fifth time Lord’s hosted the ICC World Cup Final (1975, 1979, 1983, 1999, 2019).