Brazil Won Their Fourth FIFA World Cup in 1994

Brazil Won Their Fourth FIFA World Cup in 1994

1994, Brazil Won Their Fourth FIFA World Cup

On this day July 17, 1994, Brazil won their fourth FIFA World Cup against Italy at Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California, United States. Brazil beating Italy in Penalties, 3-2 in front of 94,194 audience.

First penalty shoot-out

This was the first world Cup final to that, both scoreless in regular and extra time and to be decide by a penalty shoot-out. Therefore, this was the first time the FIFA World Cup would be decide on penalties. However, both team missed their first penalties shoot-out.

Italy scored two penalty goals in a row and missed last two. Brazil claim their fourth World Cup title when scoring three penalties in a row. Brazil became the first football nation to win four World Cup titles.

Both team met again

This was the second time that both team met in two different World Cup finals. In 1970 final, Brazil beat Italy 4-1.

FIFA World Cup 1994

The 1994 FIFA World Cup was the 15th FIFA World Cup and held in United States from June 17 to July 17, 1994.

In total, In 1994 FIFA world cup tournament 81 players scored 141 goals. Oleg Salenko (Russian) and Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgarian) received the Golden Boot for scoring six goals. Romário (Brazil) received the Golden Ball.

The Brazil Football Team

The Brazil national football team was the most successful national team in the FIFA World Cup. Brazil being crowned winner five times 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002.

The Brazil is the only national team to have played in all World Cup editions without any absence nor need for playoffs.




One thought on “Brazil Won Their Fourth FIFA World Cup in 1994

  1. July 17 - On This Day In World - Event - Birthday - Deaths - History today
    July 17, 2020 at 10:52 AM

    […] 1994 – Brazil Won Their Fourth FIFA World Cup. […]

Comments are closed.