Brazil Won Their First FIFA World Cup in 1958

Brazil Won Their First FIFA World Cup in 1958

1958, Brazil Won Their First FIFA World Cup

On this day during on June 29, 1958, Brazil won their first FIFA World Cup against Sweden at Råsunda Stadium, Stockholm, Sweden. Brazil beating Sweden, 5-2 in front of 49,737 audience.

Most Goals in a World Cup Final

Meanwhile, Pelé and Vavá each score 2 goals, Zagallo score 1 goals. The 1958 final holds the record for most goals scored in a World Cup Final. However, it shares the record for the greatest winning margin (with the 1970 and 1998 tournaments).

Firsts Records

The final also marked several firsts: It was the first final to be dispute between a European team and a team from the Americas.

Sweden became the first, and so far, only host to lose a World Cup final match (the Maracanazo of 1950 was not a final). Their loss also meant that for the first time a World Cup stage in Europe was not won by a European nation.

Just Fontaine (French) was the top scorer in the tournament by scoring 13 goals.

The 1958 FIFA World Cup

The 1958 FIFA World Cup is the sixth staging of the World Cup. FIFA World Cup hosted by Sweden from 8 to 29 June. FIFA World Cup held in a Nordic country for the first time.

Youngest and Oldest Players

At age 17, Pelé simultaneously became the youngest player to participate in, score, and win a World Cup final. Conversely, Nils Liedholm became the oldest player to score in a World Cup Final at 35 years 263 days.

Film Pelé 2014

The 1958 FIFA World Cup is depicted in the 2014 American film Pelé: Birth of a Legend which is centered around Pelè and the Brazilian teams journey to the 1958 FIFA World Cup.

The Brazil Football Team

The Brazil national football team was the most successful national team in the FIFA World Cup. Brazil being crown winner five times 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002.

The Brazil is the only national team to have played in all World Cup editions without any absence nor need for playoffs