West Germany won their second FIFA World Cup in 1974

West Germany won their second FIFA World Cup in 1974

1974, West Germany Won Their Second FIFA World Cup

On This day during on July 7, 1974, West Germany won their second FIFA World Cup. West Germany won against Netherlands at Olympiastadion, Munich. Meanwhile, the host nation West Germany won the title, beating Netherlands, 2-1 in front of 75,200 audience.

However, this was the second victory for West Germany. West Germany won their first FIFA World Cup against Hungary during in 1954.

Meanwhile, Netherlands opened the scoring via a Johan Neeskens penalty in the second minute.

Only for Paul Breitner to equalise with another penalty in the 25th minute before Gerd Müller scored the winning goal in the 43rd minute.

FIFA World Cup 1974

The FIFA World Cup 1974, was the 10th FIFA World Cup edition. And played in West Germany (including West Berlin) between 13 June and 7 July.

The tournament marked the first time that the current trophy, the FIFA World Cup Trophy, created by the Italian sculptor Silvio Gazzaniga, awarded.


On the other hand, five German players, Sepp Maier, Franz Beckenbauer, Wolfgang Overath, Jürgen Grabowski, Horst-Dieter Höttges became the first men in history who have won gold, silver and bronze medals at the FIFA World Cup.


With seven goals, Grzegorz Lato of Poland was the top scorer in the tournament. A total of, 97 goals scored by 53 players and three of them credited as own goals.

The Germany Football Team

Germany is one of the most successful national teams in international competitions, having won four World Cups in 1954, 1974, 1990 and 2014.

The Germany is the only nation to have won both the FIFA World Cup and the FIFA Women’s World Cup.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.